Where Are The Wild Things?

Posted on October 13, 2010

4


 

Aniumal hoods

There is a new trend arising. It’s been hiding in the woods for a while now and only the brave have been aware of it. The trend, the fuss, the excitement is all down to Spirit Hoods. Apparently born from the success of the Maurice Sendak childrens book turned Spike Jonez movie ‘Where The Wild Things Are’, these hoods are a charming and perfectly over the top accessory. I first spotted them on American singer Ke$ha and in the pages of ID Magazine but after seeing them on a friend’s Facebook pictures and finding merrimaking.com I decided to investigate. merrimaking.com sell and custom make hoods to fit your head, occasion and taste from just £20(you can even choose your own lining).
I like the homemade feel to this website and small business and that’s where I shall be getting my handmade hood from. Don’t ask me where to wear your hood because you know as well as I do that you would feel like a different person, in a good way, as soon as you put it on (wherever you are). Wear one in the bath if you like! Another site selling these lovely creations is SpiritHoods.com. They are a bit more mass production than the alternative and don’t have a custom made option. You can order full hoods (where it flows into a scarf of the same material) or half hoods (essentially a hat that comes down to your neck). Both sites provide hoods made from faux fur. I’ll be getting the fox one and shall wear it wherever I like. ‘LET THE WILD RUMPUS BEGIN!’

Posted in: Fashion, Portfolio